About the Author

L. A. Starks is the winner of the Texas Association of Authors' 2014 award for best mystery/thriller for her second Lynn Dayton thriller, Strike Price.

Starks was born in Boston, Massachusetts, grew up in northern Oklahoma, and now lives in Texas. Awarded a full-tuition college scholarship, she earned a chemical engineering bachelor's degree, magna cum laude, from New Orleans' Tulane University, followed by a finance MBA from the University of Chicago. While at Chicago she made time to play for a celebrated women's intramural basketball team, the Efficient Mockettes.

Working more than a decade for well-known energy companies in engineering, marketing, and finance from refineries to corporate offices prepared Starks to write global energy thrillers. In addition to her books, two of Starks' short stories have been published in Amazon Shorts.

L.A. Starks

  Photo Credit:

  Doug Layton
Eyecatch Photography 

She continues to consult on energy economics and investing, often speaking to professional groups for their members' continuing education credits. She is multi-published on dozens of energy topics at two investor websites: Starks Energy Economics and Seeking Alpha. Her nonfiction has also appeared in Mystery Readers Journal, The Dallas Morning News, The Houston Chronicle, The San Antonio Express-News, Sleuth Sayer (MWA-SW newsletter), Natural Gas, and Oil and Gas Journal. She is the co-inventor of a US patent.

Starks has run thirteen half-marathons. She served as development co-chair, investment oversight chair, and treasurer of the Friends of the Dallas Public Library, a fund-raising and advocacy group supporting Dallas' 28-branch civic library system.


Strike Price, winner of Texas Association of Authors' 2014 award for best mystery; thriller; print edition from Nemaha Ridge Publishing Group (2014)* Returnable basis, standard wholesale terms at Ingram.

13 Days: The Pythagoras Conspiracy (Lynn Dayton Thriller #1), print edition from Brown Books Publishing Group (2006)*. Returnable basis, standard wholesale terms at Ingram.

Short Stories

"Josh Rosen and Bubbe," 2014, Amazon Kindle

"A Time for Eating Wild Onions", 2007, originally Amazon Shorts, now Kindle

"Robert and Thérèse Guillard: Choices", 2007, originally Amazon Shorts, now Kindle

*Both books, along with a third short story, were formerly published in e-books editions, and Strike Price and the short story also in print, by International Thriller Writers'-recognized publisher L&L Dreamspell.

A books and stories chronology is provided here.